The Pierrot Ensembles: Chronicle and Catalogue, 1912-2012

Dromey, Christopher ORCID logoORCID: (2012) The Pierrot Ensembles: Chronicle and Catalogue, 1912-2012. Wintle, Christopher, ed. Plumbago, London. ISBN 9780956600721 (hbk) : 9780956600738 (pbk). [Book]

[img] HTML (Synopsis, Table of Contents and Index for The Pierrot Ensembles: Chronicle and Catalogue, 1912-2012 (London: Plumbago, 2012).)
Download (12kB)


2012 is the centenary of the first performance of Arnold Schoenberg’s Pierrot lunaire, Op. 21, and over the last hundred years its mixed chamber ensemble has become, in all its protean forms, a principal line-up for modern music. This book, the first of its kind, chronicles the ensemble’s evolution from Pierrot’s earliest performances, monitoring its influence on the Continent as well as upon Walton, Britten, Lutyens and Searle in Britain. In particular, it watches the growth of The Pierrot Players (later The Fires of London), one of the most galvanizing groups in post-war British music, and looks carefully at the social dynamics among its players and composers, notably Peter Maxwell Davies and Harrison Birtwistle. The influence of Pierrot, however, has not been confined to Europe and Britain. In the final section the author catalogues over 400 principal works for ‘Pierrot Ensembles’ – with or without singer – drawn from both sides of the Atlantic. An appendix includes the first reprinting of Stephen Pruslin’s text for Birtwistle’s controversial Monodrama (1967). The book is richly illustrated with photographs, drawings, music examples and diagrams.

Item Type: Book
Research Areas: A. > School of Media and Performing Arts > Performing Arts
Item ID: 9883
Useful Links:
Depositing User: Dr Chris Dromey
Date Deposited: 30 Jan 2013 09:27
Last Modified: 02 Dec 2019 08:58

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Activity Overview
6 month trend
6 month trend

Additional statistics are available via IRStats2.