Lachrimae - for string quartet

Fribbins, Peter ORCID logoORCID: (2022) Lachrimae - for string quartet. [Composition]

[img] Image (PNG) (Image from premiere in Columbus, Ohio, USA) - Supplementary material
Restricted to Repository staff and depositor only

Download (5MB)


'Lachrimae' is partly a tribute to John Dowland’s famous Lachrimae, or ‘Seven Teares’, for lute and viol consort (published in London in 1605), as well as their legacy in works of later British composers – Benjamin Britten and Harrison Birtwistle among them. The work seeks to draw on key features of Dowland’s ‘seaven passionate pavans’, including the character of the slow pavane dance and the maintaining of a single, emotional focus or ‘passion’ throughout, an important aspect of sixteenth and seventeenth century music generally. The piece was commissioned by the 'Carpe Diem Quartet' based in Ohio, USA, and premiered by them in Columbus, Ohio, on 22 October 2022.

Item Type: Composition
Research Areas: A. > School of Media and Performing Arts > Performing Arts > Music group
Item ID: 36999
Depositing User: Peter Fribbins
Date Deposited: 19 Dec 2022 10:37
Last Modified: 19 Dec 2022 10:37

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Activity Overview
6 month trend
6 month trend

Additional statistics are available via IRStats2.