Carbon 12: a choral symphony.

Wallen, Errollyn and Binias, John (2008) Carbon 12: a choral symphony. [Composition]


Carbon 12: A Choral Symphony is a 50 minutes oratorio composed by Errollyn Wallen. It is a piece about the history of mining in Wales, for Narrator, Choir, Community Choir and Orchestra. The libretto was written by John Binias.

Carbon 12 tells the story of John Jones, an everyman. He has lived for millennia, since the formation of coal through to the demise of the pits. His life is the story of of coal in Wales and also the story of the men who mined it, and their families.

Item Type: Composition
Additional Information: The composition includes a teachers pack.
First performed at the Millenium Centr, Cardiff, June 2008. Has subsequently been performed in various locations in Wales and Birmingham between 2008-9.
Research Areas: A. > School of Media and Performing Arts > Performing Arts
A. > School of Media and Performing Arts > Performing Arts > Centre for Research into Creation in the Performing Arts (ResCen)
Item ID: 3419
Useful Links:
Depositing User: Lucia Piquero
Date Deposited: 15 Dec 2010 11:47
Last Modified: 13 Oct 2016 14:16

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Activity Overview
6 month trend
6 month trend

Additional statistics are available via IRStats2.