Dances and laments for violin & cello duo

Fribbins, Peter ORCID logoORCID: (2010) Dances and laments for violin & cello duo. [Composition]


Dances & Laments consists of five contrasting movements, of which 1-2 and 3-5 are linked. A simple and lonely cello melody begins, interjected with comments from the violin, until the music erupts into a wild dance in 12/8 time. The ‘Elegy’ third movement now gives the violin the melodic lead, and grows into a warmer aria (‘Air’) marked ‘teneramente’, which is based on the Elegy’s melody. The final dance draws upon the haunting melody of the opening, which is reprised in its original form before the dance inevitably overwhelms to finish the piece. The work is dedicated to Philippe Graffin.

Item Type: Composition
Additional Information: Premiere performance: Consonances Festival, St Nazaire, France.
Research Areas: A. > School of Media and Performing Arts > Performing Arts
Item ID: 11733
Useful Links:
Depositing User: Teddy ~
Date Deposited: 20 Aug 2013 13:01
Last Modified: 27 Jan 2020 12:46

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Activity Overview
6 month trend
6 month trend

Additional statistics are available via IRStats2.